Fuck Colonialism

Stumbled upon this flash mob in Saint Henri Sunday afternoon. They stopped a passenger train.

P1000134n

Train is stopped fairly early in its journey from out of downtown Montreal.

P1000136n

I was there about 10 minutes and then everyone just left and it was regular pedestrian traffic again.
P1000139n

Apparently, “They are opposed to an oil exploration project on the Gaspé Peninsula” according to this article.

Seems to me that train could have left a lot earlier than it did but I would guess that the police were holding things up as they investigated the “crime scene.”

About 45 minutes later I saw some cops in riot gear hanging out on Notre Dame street, no doubt clocking in some OT.

Bonus shot – taken of a fence with the stopped train in the background about 10 minutes before I came upon the scene at the rail crossing.

P1000128n

Leave a comment