Walk # 6 – Over The Mountain

“This mountain, the arched back of the earth risen before us, it made me feel humble, like a beggar, just lucky to be here at all, even briefly.”
Bridget Asher, The Provence Cure for the Brokenhearted

Started at the old Train station at Parc and Jean Talon.

This pic makes me smile, it’s like I am on vacation in Europe or something…🙂

P1130051n

Nice park in front of the station. It’s all changed from back when I lived in the area but it looks ok to me. This is looking out towards buildings on the east side of Parc.

P1130053n

No accordion buses in the 80’s. I have no idea what studies have suggested but I would imagine these are worth it on the busier routes, maybe they just need to be electric to be even more efficient?

P1130055n

Heading west on Jean Talon, main street for Park Extension.

P1130056n

I lived on Durocher closer to Jarry than Jean Talon in the 80’s and early 90’s but was often down here. The street was more Greek, and Italian, back then, but Park Ex overall was a very mobile multicultural neighborhood even in those days. There was a girl in the family above me who, at 12 or so, was fluent in 6 languages, all from playing with other kids in the lane. Today I noticed a radical shift, most of the restaurants on this strip are now Indian even if old European looking males hang out at MacDonalds.

P1130057n

P1130065n

P1130064n

But some negatives too as almost a whole block is shut down on one side.

P1130062n

Livingstone Presbyterian Church, corner de l’Epee.

P1130059n

Parc Athena.

P1130060n

Parks on main streets bring a lot of quality to a neighborhood, even if there may be some issues at 3 am.

P1130061n

At L’Acadie I come to the border of the Town of Mount Royal and decide to head south.

P1130066n

Hungarian United Church at L’Acadie and Jean Talon.

P1130067n

As you go south on L’Acadie there is this little space between some bushes that lets you on to Greenoch avenue. I continued south.

P1130072n

Interesting little houses on L’Acadie (but it’s a very busy street).

P1130073n

L’Acadie Metro at L’Acadie and Beaumont.

P1130074n

Heading west on Beaumont.

P1130075n

Heavy on the landscaping…

P1130076n

The area south of Jean Talon along here is all medical/health centers and a long strip mall.

P1130077n

P1130079n

Funeral parlour, but the size of the parking lot indicates this place can get busy.

P1130078n

Wanting to go south at Rockland and this viaduct that is under construction has a pedestrian/bike path up the middle.

P1130081n

 

P1130082n

The money we spend just maintaining and repairing already existing structures is astronomical, let alone trying to factor in what a truly complex project like Turcot will actually cost, and it will cost a scandalous fortune, you can bank on that! One of the main reasons for the general sad state of infrastructure in North America is that political parties have avoided taking responsibility for the constantly escalating costs of repairing and/or replacing infrastructure, as if it is so politically toxic to assume those debts that it is better to pretend it is not there and hope the other party will try to tackle it if and when they take power.

P1130083n

Looking west.

P1130086n

Looking east.

P1130087n

And zooming in a bit you can see the Olympic Stadium tower on the right side.

P1130088n

Eastern slope of Mount Royal.

P1130089n

Down the other side.

P1130090n

Some work being done at the bottom and they built this little walkway.

P1130091n

And this is the name of an apartment building on Rockland.

P1130092n

Building at Rockland and avenue du Manoir.

P1130093n

Moving up Rockland. Manoir Outremont, starting to get a little ritzier as we go uphill.

P1130094n

Lane across the street, however, looking quite ordinary.

P1130097n

Le Piment Bleu, corner Ducharme and Rockland.

P1130098n

Heading west noticing that this is not an unusual single house around here.

P1130099n

Some samples from the area.

P1130108n

P1130109n

P1130100n

P1130101n

P1130102n

Parc Joyce.

P1130103n

I like it but it almost seems to be in poor taste in this neighborhood.

P1130104n

Chalet at Parc Pratt.

P1130105n

Even the parks seem wealthier around here.

P1130106n

Zigzagged my way to Cote Sainte Catherine.

P1130110n

Saint Germain d’Outremont. Much bigger church than it looks here.

P1130114n

South on Vincent d’Indy. Heading into Universite de Montreal territory I see lots of residences, not sure if students live along here though.

P1130115n

One of the possible downsides of these walks is realizing how you can just miss things. The building in the back is the Pensionnat de Saint Nom de Marie. I worked on a renovation project there in the mid 80’s replacing the windows. I can go back another time.

P1130116n

Metro Edouard Monpetit and a university building on the hill.

P1130117n

Closer up you get a better sense of the style.

P1130118n

Got stuck on Willowdale for a while with no through street but came out on Edouard Montpetit here. Believe it or not that is Les Studios Hotel.

P1130119n

Monument to Edouard Monpetit. It really is a beautiful campus and I am making a note to myself to give this a decent tour soon.

P1130122n

The school appears to be well served by Bixi.

P1130123n

The north side of Edouard Montpetit pretty much looks like this all the way. Thinking of the thousands of students who must have lived along here over the decades.

P1130125n

It appears to be a very green campus. This is a patch that identifies various species of plants that were planted here.

P1130127n

Almost thought I was going to pass through here without getting a shot of the iconic tower on the main buildings designed by Ernest Cormier. Phew!

P1130128n

Looks like a part of the Metro system but the area is closed because of, yep, construction.

P1130130n

Taking pictures of a famous local tower, easiest method for feeling like a tourist in your town that I have yet to come  across.

P1130132n

The school and environs cannot escape the madness of construction everywhere here in the summer months these days.

P1130133n

P1130134n

An entrance.

P1130136n

Leaving the school area and heading west on Lancombe. Nice house.

P1130137n

And down on to Cote des Neiges.

P1130139n

Metro Station.

P1130141n

Reasonably priced farmer’s market.

P1130142n

P1130143n

It’s a pretty busy commercial street along here.

P1130145a

Up ahead, the Rockhill apartment complex, one of my aunts lived there for a long time.

P1130148n

After taking a break at a coffee shop I headed west along Queen Mary. It’s a Pharmaprix drug store today but this place was once a wax museum focused on history though I  remember some of its “Tableau” were clearly racist renditions of events…it was kind of a lame and hopeless sort of place. Not missed by moi.

P1130149n

College Notre Dame.

P1130154n

And across the street, Saint Joseph’s Oratory, Canada’s largest church.

P1130155n

Bit of a closer look.

P1130156n

Sports field on north side is part of College Notre Dame I am guessing.

P1130159n

Not sure what this building is on the south side, but it is just west of the Oratory so I assume it is a related structure.

P1130160n

And back on the other side is the Institut Universitaire Geriatrie de Montreal which is associate with the Universite de Montreal (getting dizzy myself just posting this).

P1130162n

In closer at the main entrance.

P1130163n

Apartment building with non functional fountain on Cote des Neiges.

P1130165n

And I decided to head south (uphill) on Grosvenor.

P1130164n

Houses are getting bigger again.

P1130166n

And I am really struck by these basement garages that seem deliberately angled to make getting in and out easier and I would bet that it very much is easier.

P1130167n

Was not expecting to see this little neighborhood cut through short cut up here.

P1130169n

Some of the types of houses up along here.

P1130168n

P1130170n

P1130171n

And I do have to confess that I did take a little three minute break sitting on someone’s front steps because Grosvenor is a long relentless uphill walk. I would not have dared to try this route six months ago but in early January I quit smoking and began walking much more with at least one 2 hour (or plus) walk per week. So I am particularly happy with this walk because I have challenged myself on a level that was unthinkable six months ago, so YAY for me!!

Went west on Sunnyside and turned south on Victoria. And I am thinking super expensive rest home on top of the hill?

P1130172n

Going to stop for a moment to mention something for which I have no picture(s) because I just don’t do certain things. You may have heard that women from Southeast Asia (often The Philippines are mentioned) get hired/sponsored/or whatever to work as domestic help for wealthier people in Canada. Well, on my walk through here today I saw no less than a dozen woman who fit that description either waiting at bus stops or being picked up by similarly looking men, but no one of any other racial description was waiting at a bus stop, etc.  and you just do not see pedestrians on these streets if today was a good example… Not saying anything is wrong, just saying…weird, is what it is…

About to head west along The Boulevard.

P1130173n

At this point my camera is warning me it is running out of juice so I decide to try to just take pictures of what might be the most important things I come across if shooting and turning the camera off right away is going to work to make the camera function for the rest of this walk.

A bit strange to suddenly be going through here.

P1130174n

And then it’s all downhill…

P1130176n

I pass by this place on my left (south). Providence.

P1130178n

And I almost feel like celebrating as I hit Decarie Expressway but, still some more downhill to go!

P1130179n

Heading south on Decarie this is part of the Providence property.

P1130180n

Looking across Decarie and here is a franchise, so to speak,  of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints (Mormons). So I might as well say right now that the reason I often post pictures of religious centers (churches) is primarily because of their architectural value, which I tend to believe is much higher than most structures in the city, their sometimes intense relationship to the surrounding neighborhood (history) and their sheer prominence on the streets that I walk. They are worth mentioning in my book.

P1130181n

Villa Maria Metro.

P1130182n

And here is the original Villa Maria (well, the gate anyway).

P1130183n

Continuing south on Decarie.

P1130184n.jpg

Can you guess why I would post this relatively new but relatively obscure little project? Outside staircases.

P1130185n

Saint Augustine of Canterbury Parish.

P1130186n

Old fire station on Notre Dame de Grace boulevard and Prud’homme.

P1130187n

Some housing heading south on Prud’homme.

P1130188n

Looking east at Sherbrooke. That Buffalo Jeans billboard has been there for at least 20 years, can we start calling it iconic (even if it is technically always changing)?

P1130189n

So I continue down Prud’homme and come out at de Maisonneuve. And it’s the Superhospital looking every bit like the Lego inspired post-austerity post-medicare spiritual twin of the Turcot fiasco happening just over it’s left shoulder. It’s almost like we built two Olympic Stadiums in one spot.

P1130190n

Former film processing factory.  There were no windows on this building 20 years ago.

P1130191n

So I waltz in towards Vendome Metro feeling pretty darn good about hitting my goal, which was to end up here. I decided to take a self portrait of myself so I put my camera on a 10 sec timer (completely blown away by the fact that the turn on/shoot/turn off strategy actually appears to have extended the battery life of said camera) and everything is totally great… put the camera on the ledge of a planter and walk back near a phone booth…and this woman walks through the scene….and my camera dies, so I laugh to myself at the irony of that and head home only to later find out that that last picture actually worked!!

P1130192n

Never give up!! I got a million cliches and this is a city that never fails to prove that what you think ain’t always what really is because it’s so much waaaay better…you got to get out there, my friends, so until the next time, so long from the photoflanneur!!🙂

Map # 6

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

