Surprise in Saint Michel

Finding myself exploring the neighborhood just to the east of the old Miron Quarry, now Parc Frederic-Bach, I stumbled upon a green lane (ruelle vert) right up against the STM adapted transport center.

At first I only noticed there was a couple of murals painted on some structures
P1030612b

P1030614b

which are always interesting to me, especially like when the second one plays out onto the floor of the lane. But then I spotted this
P1030615b

a single Metro (subway) seat from the Montreal system! This is taking public art to the next level, combining so may ideas and creating a multitude of interconnections, while remaining so ridiculously simple! Well done!!

And I could not resist the old fashioned selfie as I asked myself how many times in the past 50 years have I ever previously sat on that seat while racing underground somewhere in this awesome city? And you know, one of them could have been when I explored the Miron Quarry in the late 80’s. Here is a walking post on Miron from a few years ago. More to come soon says the ol’ photoflanneur!
P1030617

Leave a comment