Dan Bern In Montreal

P1250504n

Had the great pleasure of attending a Dan Bern concert Sunday afternoon at a bar downtown. It was a small back room venue with excellent sound, perfect for this type of performance – one singer with a guitar and harmonica.

From wiki
Dan Bern (also known as Bernstein) is an American guitarist, singer, songwriter, novelist and painter. His music is often compared to that of Bob Dylan, Woody Guthrie, Bruce Springsteen, Phil Ochs and Elvis Costello.[1][2][3]

He is a prolific composer, having written over one thousand songs.[4][5] He also wrote the novel Quitting Science (2004) under the pen name Cunliffe Merriwether and wrote the preface under his own name.”

Dan Bern is one of the best contemporary musical chroniclers of pop culture and American life today . Blending poetry and storytelling in that unique wonderful mixed American tradition of folk music and rock and roll, he writes intelligent and/or funny songs that won’t fly over your head, maybe make you want to sing along with a tune you are hearing for the first time (ok, and maybe a protest type song or two).

If you ever hear of Dan Bern coming to your town, buy tickets immediately!

“I asked God
Do one thing for me
Send me back in time
Send me to Seattle
Let me go
Find Kurt Cobain
Take away his gun
Take away his bullets
Talk to him
Make him wanna live
Tell him how we love him
Help him see his glory
God Said No
If I sent you back
If you really found him
You would only ask him
If he could
Help you get a deal
If he knows a lawyer
If he can help you
God Said No ”

“Everybody’s waiting for the Messiah
The Jews are waiting
The Christians are waiting
Oh so are the Muslims
It’s like everybody’s waiting
They been waiting a long time
I know how I hate to wait
Like even for a bus or something
An important phone call
So I can imagine how darned impatient
Everyone must be getting

So I think it’s time now
Time to reveal myself
I am the Messiah
I am the Messiah”

 

“Tourist towns are a drag sometimes
But in non-tourist towns you can get beat up
Just for lookin a little different
I guess the thing to do is just stay at home
Yeah but sometimes I think the thing to do
Would be to get a place way out in Missouri
Put down as many months rent as you can part with
Tell everybody else you went to France

I said remember that conversation we had about love
I said well, I think that you were right
She said I don’t remember sayin nothin about love
It must have been a fantasy of the moment
I have a dream
I have a dream

I dream of joining the Mafia
And whether people like me is unimportant
I dream of your clock radio
Waking you up with my songs
I have a dream of a New American Language
I dream of new beginnings
I dream of saturation bombing
I dream mostly about love ”

One response to “Dan Bern In Montreal

  1. So sorry to have missed this – just not paying attention. Bern’s post-9/11 song was one of the genius songs elicited by that event, along with Loudon Wainwright’s. But then he has so many great ones. Thanks for putting this up …even for all of feeling bad!

Leave a Reply

