Then They Came For The Trade Unionists

Stephen Harper is rooting for the Governor down in Wisconsin, you can bet on that because his oil sensibilities are not far from the Koch Brothers lips.

Then They Came for the Trade Unionists

Thursday 10 March 2011

by: William Rivers Pitt, t r u t h o u t | Op-Ed

Then They Came for the Trade Unionists

On this day, it behooves us to remember the words of Martin Niemoller.
“First they came for the communists,” he wrote, “and I didn’t speak out because I wasn’t a communist. Then they came for the trade unionists, and I didn’t speak out because I wasn’t a trade unionist. Then they came for the Jews, and I didn’t speak out because I wasn’t a Jew. Then they came for me and there was no one left to speak out for me.”

I am a trade unionist, and yesterday in Wisconsin, they came for me. They came for you. They came for every working person in America, and their intent could not be more clear. Governor Scott Walker, along with the Koch Brothers and the right-wing radicals of the Republican Party, moved in darkness and with shameless deceit to gut the ability of dedicated laborers to bargain on an equal footing for the right to earn a living wage and to have access to decent health care.

Full story here.

Leave a Reply

